Jess-Trio-Wien; Marie Isabel, David, Paul Kropfitsch; Wolfgang Holzmair; Rainer Bischof
Concert, Lecture
Arnold Schönberg Center
Wednesday, 09 November 2022
6.30 pm

   Elisabeth Kropfitsch violin
   Stefan Kropfitsch violoncello
   Johannes Kropfitsch piano
Marie Isabel Kropfitsch, David Kropfitsch, Paul Kropfitsch violin
Wolfgang Holzmair baritone

Arnold SCHÖNBERG Fuge in e-Moll »Kristallnacht-Fuge« (arrangement for piano trio: Rainer Bischof)
Rainer BISCHOF Todesfuge nach Paul Celan

Lecture Rainer Bischof: Schönberg und die Kristallnacht (in German)

Free admission | Online reservation

In 2013 Rainer Bischof wrote a piano trio arrangement of a draft by Schönberg, known to musicologists as the “Kristallnacht Fugue.” The draft is dated November 10, 1938. In the November pogroms of 1938, violence in Germany and Austria led to death and destruction among Jewish citizens, with active participation by sections of the population. This formed the start of the systematic obliteration of Jewish life in German-speaking regions. We would like to commemorate these events in this memorial event.